Board of Library Trustees

As an independent special district, the governance of the district is vested in an elected administrative board of library trustees. The Lassen Library District Board of Library Trustees is comprised of five uncompensated, elected members. The library trustees are responsible for setting the personnel, operations, patron and financial policies and the strategic direction of the library district.

Trustee Duties and Eligibility Requirements 

Board of Trustees By-Laws

Trustees are elected to four-year terms; three trustees are elected during one election cycle and the other two trustees are elected during the next election cycle. Elections are held in even numbered years during regularly held state and local general elections. These members are elected by voters living within the district's boundaries (encompassing the city limits of Susanville). Board vacancies can be filled by resolution of the board, but the appointed trustees must seek voter approval at the end of the term for which they were appointed.

The current members of the Board of Library Trustees and their terms of service are:

Position Name Trustee Since Term Expires
 President  Margie Meserve  June 2012  December 2018
 Vice President  Riki Dimond  November 2009  December 2018
 Secretary  Marilyn Shears  September 2013  December 2020
 Trustee  Al Vazquez  January 2017  December 2020
 Trustee  Jennifer Cote  June 2014  December 2020







The Board of Library Trustees holds regular, public monthly meetings in the library's conference room at 4 p.m. on the third Thursday of each month. Special meetings are called, as required.


Fiscal Year 2017-2018 Meetings
Meeting Date Meeting Type Agenda Minutes
Jul. 20, 2017 Regular PDF PDF
Aug. 24, 2017 Regular PDF PDF
Sep. 21, 2017 Regular PDF PDF
Oct. 19, 2017 Regular PDF  
Nov. 16, 2017 Regular PDF  
Dec. 14, 2016 Organizational PDF  
Jan. 18, 2018 Regular  
Feb. 15, 2018 Regular  
Mar. 15, 2018 Regular    
Apr. 19, 2018 Regular    
May. 17, 2018 Regular
Jun. 21, 2018 Regular  


Minutes of Past Meetings

Fiscal Year 2016-2017
July 21 Regular,  August 18 Regular,  September 15 Regular,  October 20 Regular,  November 17 Regular, December 8 Organizational,  January 5 Special,  January 26 Regular,  February 16 Regular,  March 9 Special,  March 16 Regular,  April 20 Regular,  May 18 Regular,  June 22 Regular

Fiscal Year 2015-2016
July 15 Regular, August 19, Regular,  September 17 Regular,  October 22 Regular,  November 12 Regular, December 10 Organizational,  January 9 Special,  January 21 Regular,  February 18 Regular,  March 24 Regular,  April 21 Regular, May 19 Regular,  June 16 Regular,  June 29 Special